North Carolina Title Loan Laws and Regulations

Find out if short-term Title Loans are legal in North Carolina and what amounts, interest rates, and repayment terms are set by the state's Legislation.

Ad

TITLE LOAN Application Form

Fast and Easy. Bad Credit OK

By submitting your information you claim you have read and understood and agree to Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, Responsible Lending and Marketing Practices

minnesota title loans Rates and Terms

Legal Status

Legal Status

The status of a loan type according to the Federal laws and regulations. What concerns Payday Loans some states consider them legal, some – illegal and some restrict them in terms of amounts and interest rates.

Available (with some restrictions)
Maximum Loan Amount

Maximum Loan Amount

It’s the maximum sum of cash advance allowed to apply for in the state. It usually ranges from $500 to $1000. But it may vary depending on the lender and his requirements.

$350
Minimum Loan Amount

Minimum Loan Amount

It’s the minimal amount of cash advance you can apply for. It’s not always stated, the average sum is $100. But it may vary depending on the lender and the state’s regulations.

$100
Maximum Loan Term

Maximum Loan Term

It’s the maximum period of time within which you are to allowed to pay off your loan.

30 day(s)
Maximum APR

Maximum APR

The maximum percentage allowed that actually represents annual cost of your loan. The APR is based on several things, including the amount you borrow, the interest rate and costs you’re being charged, and the length of your loan.

396.00%
Legal Car Title Loans in North Carolina

Table of Contents:

What do North Carolina Title Loan Laws Regulate?

Why are Title Loans so important for North Carolina borrowers?

North Carolina Laws aim at Title Loan consumer protection

Title Loan repossession Laws in North Carolina

How You’re Protected from Repossession in North Carolina

Title Loans Lenders regulation in North Carolina

What are the main Title Loan Rules in North Carolina?

How the law regulates Title Loan Interest rates and Fees in North Carolina

What are Title Loan Terms based on North Carolina laws?

What are Title Loan Requirements in North Carolina?

What You Need to Know about Title Loans in North Carolina

What do North Carolina Title Loan Laws Regulate?

Everybody can’t but admit that short-term Car Title Loans are a great way to get quick cash, especially if you have bad credit.

You only need a valid driver’s license and a vehicle that’s titled in your name to get a guaranteed lender’s approval. However, every borrower must consider loan interest rates and terms, as well as any North Carolina laws and regulations that may apply to Title Loans.

Why are Title Loans so important for North Carolina borrowers?

Federal laws don’t actually regulate title loans, it’s the responsibility of each state. At the federal level, the Consumer Bureau for Financial Protection is in charge of making sure that lenders offer Title Loans only to borrowers who can repay the money. It’s done to protect borrowers from predatory lending.

North Carolina Title Loan regulations determine:

  • what the lender can do in case of a defaulted payment;
  • limit interest rates that may be charged;
  • if renewals and rollovers are allowed;
  • limits on maximum and / or minimum Title loan amount;
  • maximum and/or minimum terms of Title Loan repayment;
  • any penalty fees, etc.

Title loans are Illegal in North Carolina. The laws setm minimum and maximum loan terms, but there is no limit on the amount that a consumer may borrow. So, Title Loan terms in North Carolina are . The interest rate is capped to which is 25%/mon. Lenders can charge . These regulations are all established by N.C. Gen. Stat. 53-173, https://law.justia.com/codes/north-carolina/2010/chapter53/article15/section53-….

Study these regulations carefully before applying for a Title Loan in North Carolina. Pay special attention to repossession laws. They state the lender’s behavior and consumer’s rights in case of loan default. It will be good to know in advance whether the lender is legally allowed to repossess the vehicle and sell it in order to cover the financial loss if a borrower doesn’t repay the loan on time.

North Carolina Laws aim at Title Loan consumer protection

As Title Loans are designed for covering short-term urgent financial needs, they should be considered only as solutions for emergency expenses. No credit check requirements for title loans make them more available than traditional bank loans but, on the other hand, riskier. That’s why the North Carolina state has established title loan laws and regulations whose main idea is to protect consumers. Make sure you understand all the details before choosing a Car Title Loan for quick funding in North Carolina.

Title Loan Repossession Laws in North Carolina

Repossession laws are probably the most important part that consumers must clarify before applying for a title loan. In North Carolina, the car title is used as collateral to secure a title loan.

According to North Carolina title loan regulations, a consumer can lose the vehicle if he or she falls behind on title loan payments or violates the terms of the title loan in some other way. The lender has the right to repossess the vehicle, sell it, and use the money of the sale as compensation for a defaulted loan.

It’s necessary to mention, that in some states, title lenders are not allowed to keep the surplus from the sale of a repossessed vehicle. In some states there exists the consumer right to cure period. It’s about a month on average. It means a borrower has this additional time to repay a defaulted loan in order to get back the vehicle.

If a customer doesn’t pay the money back even after this period, the vehicle will be repossessed.

How You’re Protected from Repossession in North Carolina

  • First of all, North Carolina protects its residents by setting certain repossession laws.
  • Secondly, the Government takes care that lenders offered additional repayment time, or plan to redeem the title by paying the loan back.
  • The state also determines whether the vehicle can be sold and how much percent of the sale proceeds a lender can take.
  • Title lenders are obliged to maintain detailed records regarding all title loan transactions.
  • North Carolina title loan lenders violating these laws may be fined up to $1,000.

Title Loans Lenders regulation in North Carolina

Make sure the lender you apply to is licensed to provide Title Loans in North Carolina. They are to pay a certain fee annually for licensing. If you know that you borrow from a legitimate lending company, you may stay assured that your rights will be protected.

What are the main Title Loan Rules in North Carolina?

Title loans in North Carolina are regulated by N.C. Gen. Stat. 53-173. The official body that controls the lenders of North Carolina and protects consumers’ rights is North Carolina Commissioner of Banks. In case of any question, or complaint you can always address. Find all the contact information on their website - https://www.nccob.gov/.

How the law regulates Title Loan Interest rates and Fees in North Carolina

Under North Carolina title loan laws, lenders are allowed to charge 300.00% APR. The maximum Title loan term for North Carolina is also set by the state’s law. If the loan is not paid in full within repayment terms, the borrower takes a risk of having his or her vehicle repossessed.

What are Title Loan Terms based on North Carolina laws?

Under North Carolina Title Loan laws and N.C. Gen. Stat. 53-173, there are N.C. Gen. Stat. 53-173 terms. The maximum loan amount allowed to borrow against a car title in North Carolina is also limited and usually depends on the following factors:

  • Gross monthly income
  • Value of the vehicle
  • Requested loan amount
  • Term of the loan

What are Title Loan Requirements in North Carolina?

Though Title Loanlaws differ by state, most lenders have similar requirements:

  • A car title, or sometimes physical possession of the vehicle title.
  • Proof of income from any source – alimony, child support, Social Security, workers’ compensation, or disability.

Besides, an applicant will be asked to provide the following information:

  • An accurate description of the vehicle (make, model, year, mileage, etc.)
  • Type of ID and ID number presented by you
  • Amount of the loan
  • The agreed-upon repayment date of the loan and the amount due
  • The monthly rate and charges
  • Your full legal name, address, contact number, and date of birth

Title Loan requirements for North Carolina residents are:

  • A car title clear of any liens.
  • A steady source of recurring income payments.
  • North Carolina residence.
  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • A valid government-issued photo ID. 

In a nutshell: What You Need to Know About Title Loans in North Carolina

  • North Carolina Title Loan laws require lenders to be licensed, which means the state protects consumers against fraud. Good for you, as in any case when something goes wrong you can take legal action to stay safe.
  • Title loans in North Carolina are regulated by N.C. Gen. Stat. 53-173.
  • Any false advertising and selling or charging for any kind of insurance are considered predatory actions and lenders may be fined for them by law.
  • All these and more – limits on North Carolina Title loan amounts, rates, terms, etc. are stated in the laws which you’d better study carefully before taking out a Title Loan.
 
What does North Carolina law say about Lost, Stolen, or Destroyed Title Loan Contracts?
 
Local Title Loan laws in North Carolina
 
Title loan alternatives in North Carolina

File a complaint on Title Loan lender in North Carolina

If you need to file a complaint about your title loan service, or lender, you may contact North Carolina Commissioner of Banks online at https://www.nccob.gov/ or by phone.

Ad

Loans for ANY NEEDS
APR from 4.99%

Ad

Loans for ANY NEEDS
APR from 4.99%

Advertiser Disclosure

COMPACOM.COM is an independent advertising service that provides information and reviews on various companies to help customers compare them and get the best deal. If the company's page is not marked by "Affiliate Sign" and "Affiliate Disclosure", it means we are not affiliated with this business. We just provide the relevant data to help the company promote its services and let the customers find and get the necessary assistance faster.

COMPACOM.COM is not responsible for any products and services advertised and compared. As you click on any advertising block, you are redirected to the third party's website and it's your responsibility to check all the details of the deal. Neither is COMPACOM.COM liable for other companies' logos, names are trademarks™ or registered® trademarks used on our website. Their use does not signify or suggest endorsement, affiliation, or sponsorship. The main aim of COMPACOM.COM is to provide verified information that is taken from the companies' websites and other public sources and supported by the links to them.

COMPACOM.COM can get some compensation for featured placement of certain sponsored products and services, or your clicking on links posted on this website. But it doesn't impact the way the companies are evaluated. Their rating is based solely on real people's reviews which go through a double verification via phone number and e-mail.

We strive to keep all the information on this site up-to-date and accurate but you should check any rates and terms as well as other product or service information on the provider's website.

Close